6.8.18 / New York / New York

Nick Cave Debuts A Month Long Art-Show-Dance-Party ‘The Let Go’ In NYC

Leave it all on the dance floor

  • [Photo: James Ewing]

  • Coming off of two sold-out Oneohtrix Point Never concerts as part of the Red Bull Music Festival, Park Avenue Armory is already back with another music-based event, this time led by Nick Cave. But this isn’t simply a concert. Cave’s new month-long series title ‘The Let Go’ is a dance party, a costume show, and visual installation. Most of all, it’s a cathartic explosion of the senses in the form of a town hall that serves to bring people together and break down the social and cultural barriers that are reasserted in our daily lives now more than ever before. Though there is a strong visual component, with large sculptures filling up the Drill Hall and costumes people can wear, it all serves to give people the sense of freedom allotted on the dance floor. There will be DJs and nightlife events, yoga, hula hoopers, and choirs in the daytime, line dancers, games of Twister, choreography, artists talks, a grand ball, and more to overwhelm the senses and uplift the community. Cave is expert at using expressing himself through his art, regardless of medium. With ‘The Let Go,’ he offers New York the same opportunity of expression, respite, and relief.

    ‘The Let Go’ Event Schedule:

    Installation Hours:
    Wednesday–Friday: 7:30–11pm
    Weeknight installation hours include a special Up Right performance at 8pm

    Saturday-Sunday: 11am –6pm
    Live DJs 2:00pm–6:00pm
    Lineup:
    Saturday, June 9: Ana Matronic
    Sunday, June 10: Johnny Dynell
    Saturday, June 16: Joe Claussell
    Sunday, June 17: JD Samson
    Saturday, June 23: Noise Cans
    Sunday, June 24: Sabine Blaizin
    Saturday, June 30: Sammy Jo
    Sunday, July 1: Tedd Patterson

    Artist Talk
    Thursday, June 7 at 6pm

    The Freedom Ball
    Thursday, June 14 from 7pm-12am
    Dress to Express Competition at 11pm

    Artistic Responses
    Tuesday, June 26 at 7:30pm

  • [Photo: James Ewing]

  • [Photo: James Ewing]

  • [Photo: James Ewing]